Roman style pizza "al metro" - by the meter

NYC Pizza Review: Merilu in Hell’s Kitchen

As we make our way around the New York City neighborhood pizza joints, the next stop is Merilu Pizza Al Metro on 9th Ave in Hell’s Kitchen.

Merilu specializes in “Roman” style pizza (along with a classic New York thin crust), which has a crispy crust and is more often baked in long rectangles. Another discerning feature sometimes found in the Roman pizza, as in Merilu, is the “Al Metro” which basically means that you are purchasing it “by the meter.” So while the pizza I had delivered was some sort of regulation size, if I were in the restaurant, they would cut off a slab of pizza based on how many meters I wanted to eat. Or something like that….

Anyway, I tried the traditional “cheese” version of the Roman pizza, and Mark got a regular thin crust with jalapeƱos on top.

The traditional New York style pizza was 100% my preference between these two. My Roman style pizza was heavily sauced with kind of sweetish sauce for the lesser amount of cheese present. Now obviously I’m no expert on this style of pizza, so that could be totally typical and the ideal set up for this za. But it wasn’t really to my taste.

So there you have it: not for me, but doesn’t mean it’s not for someone else. And on to the next.

Leave a Reply

