Blue Landscape #2

Painting Up A Storm

Literally. I’ve taken to painting clouds and storms and snow.

I’ve “always” painted: in that ever since I was little, I’ve loved to draw and paint. I don’t have a degree in art, but since elementary school, I’ve taken extracurricular art classes: from drawing camp, to watercolor, figure drawing and painting at MICA (Maryland Institute College of Art), to intro art classes at University of Maryland, art history at the Sorbonne, and continuing drawing classes at the Ann Arbor Art Center. My mom and I even went to Greece to paint when I was in high school, and I sent art slides with all of my college applications.

(Side note, that was crazy – that we made physical slides of art – I’m sure now people just upload photos! Our kids probably won’t even know what slides are. HA.)

It’s kind of funny in looking back over my life how much art has always been a part of it, and yet I always kept it as a hobby in the background. I’ve never thought about this long laundry list of credentials I actually have.

I’ve had an offer or two from folks throughout the years to buy this or that painting, but I never took anyone up on it.

Until now!!!

With the encouraging support of Megan Elizabeth and the NYC group of The Rising Tide Society, I’ve begun putting some serious focus on making art in a concerted and commercial way.

For those who haven’t heard me go on about about this yet: The Rising Tide Society is a group of creatives and small business owners who support one another through a spirit of community over competition. Started by my wedding photographers, Natalie Franke and Krista Jones, in Annapolis MD, it has now spread across the world with meet-up groups that function almost like modern-day salons, meeting once a month geographically to discuss relevant topics from copyrights to the client experience to finding your niche.

So when fellow artist and RTS friend, Megan, put together a beautiful exhibit at Rabbithole Projects in DUMBO in Brooklyn, and she generously invited those in our meet-up group to showcase some pieces too.

Ecstatic at the invitation, I included three paintings and, even more special, had about 15 friends and family attend to support me!! I’m seriously still over the moon about it and cannot thank everyone enough. I clearly have the best friends and family ever.

A website is in the works, and I’m excited to start this new adventure. Although when I tell people and they say “Oh I didn’t know you painted” (at least 95% of people have said this), I have to remember that it’s really not new at all.

Some things I’ve been working on:

Blue Series #1
Blue Series #1
Blue Landscape #2
Blue Landscape #2
Yoga Series #3
Yoga Series #3, styled, sold
Yoga Series #6
Yoga Series #6, sold
Sunrise Over Frozen Lake, Michigan
Sunrise Over Frozen Lake, Michigan
Sunrise, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Sunrise, Ann Arbor, Michigan
One thought on “Painting Up A Storm

Leave a Reply

