About Me & Martha

Yes, this idea is pretty much my version of the girl that cooked her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking and blogged about it.

In moving again to another new city I’m excited at all the possibilities, but also kind of unsure of the next steps here. I often feel like a jack of all trades, master of none. Which, if I’m being honest, I thoroughly enjoy because there are so many avenues that I want to explore. But which isn’t great for settling into and moving up in a career path. So here’s my plan to bring some structure to my weeks and learn something new at the same time!

I’m baking my way through Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook and will write about my experiences with the recipes as I go. Why?

  1. Over my time spent in Michigan, I’ve come to love baking. I’m using my mind but also my hands to create something (and it’s great that the oven helps heat a cold apartment). That feels very fulfilling in the way that creating a painting or drawing does (some other things I love to do).
  2. I love learning. And in particular about food. And what better way to learn than to do! And hopefully by the end of the journey, I’ll be able to look back and see some improvement in my baking skills (and hopefully in my photography too).
  3. I crave routine. Whatever it may entail, I enjoy writing out a schedule for my day and having those days look pretty similar. Baking and writing will give some structure and allow me to work on both of those skill sets. It’s lovely to wake up on a chilly morning and bake in PJs while watching Netflix.
  4. I admire Martha Stewart (okay, it would be amazing to build a brand like she has). She’s strong and private, while being intensely successful. She feels “real” (I mean she went to jail – that’s pretty real). She’s got that formal New England demeanor with a tinge of New York grit which reminds me of both sides of my family. Additionally, I get a kick out of the fact that my mom claims to have been a year behind her at Skidmore College – it’s like two degrees of separation! [Side note: It turns out that it must be a different Martha Stewart because the famous one is at least five years older than my mom and went to Barnard. So nevermind.]

I hope you enjoy my journey through this book and that you learn a few things about me and baking and yourself along the way!

18 thoughts on “About Me & Martha

Leave a Reply

