New Job = No Blog

Not really too much else to say about that.

I’d been volunteering for a local not-for-profit here in Ann Arbor, The Brides Project, since January, after finding my wedding gown there last November.  The Brides Project sells gently loved wedding dresses; everyone’s a volunteer, the shop space is donated, and all the dresses have been donated; 100% of the proceeds benefit The Cancer Support Community of Greater Ann Arbor that provides free services to anyone touched by cancer.

The former shop coordinator (the only staff person) decided to stay home after having her second child, and because I had been in involved in so many aspects of the operations from a volunteer perspective, The Cancer Support Community Executive Director asked me if I wanted to step in as the new coordinator.

In loving this mission and the fun of helping brides find wedding dresses, how could I say no?!?

Well it’s been about a month, and it’s been crazy hectic trying to get up to speed on all the various aspects of the operations and meeting everyone – 99% of whom are fabulous volunteers.  But it’s been rewarding, and I finally feel like I’m starting to get into a routine with it.

But in juggling all the emails, events and volunteers, other things – like this blog – have slipped through the cracks.  I wasn’t writing much for Eater.com, but I finally was able to publish a few articles a few weeks ago…an interview with a master sommelier…and a list of October wine events in Metro Detroit.  Anyone have any good leads for other Eater articles I should write?  I’m currently lacking in inspiration…I need to get back to downtown Detroit one of these days, and I also have some errands to run in Royal Oak if anything needs to be covered there.

Hopefully more to come here!!

One thought on “New Job = No Blog

Leave a Reply

