Happy Belated Flag Day!

June 14th, 2013.  I can’t believe it.  It’s already been a complete year, 365 days, since I quit my job and wrote my first blog post!  Time has seriously flown by.  I still feel like a newbie to this unemployment (or part-time employment) game.

Okay, so just to recap:

I quit my banking job and started a blog.

I got engaged and moved halfway across the country.

I went to Northern and Western Michigan, Texas (twice), Chicago (twice), Baltimore (numerous times), New York (at least twice), San Francisco & Napa Valley, Paris, Mexico and Jamaica.

I got two very involved volunteer jobs as a sorority advisor and Cancer Support Community fundraiser.

I got two less involved real (aka paying…although very little) jobs as a yoga teacher and writer for Detroit.Eater.com.

I baked, read and generally hibernated away the coldest, snowiest winter.

And I planned (and am still planning) this wedding.

Somehow that seems like a lot but not really anything either.

Time is flying by at a scarily fast pace but I’m also anxious for certain things to hurry up and get here.

I feel incredibly busy everyday but I also feel like the things that are keeping me busy are things that I would’ve done in my old life squeezed around time at a 9-5+ job.  So what am I doing with myself?  And why am I still thinking about myself in relation to a job when intellectually I know that we are not (or should not be) defined by our professions.  I wrote “writer” on my immigration form entering Jamaica.  It was weird not to write “banker” and I had a moment of hesitation like someone would call me out on not really being a writer.  Like, who defines these jobs: writer, artist, singer…is it just what you think you are?  Or should you be getting paid?  Not that it matters on an immigration form.  Those people don’t care.  So long as you don’t write “terrorist” I guess.

Well thank you WordPress for that Happy Anniversary note.

7 thoughts on “Happy Belated Flag Day!

  1. Remeber what your Grandfather (Pappa) said about his retirement, “I never realized how long it took to do so little”. It’s not so much about what one does. It’s more about how well one does it and the personal satisfactions garnered thereof.

    Like

  2. Id say online journalist is fine. It couldn’t be much less accurate than what I’ve seen out there. FYI – I did sommelier coursework, but there’s no official universal qualification like doctors, lawyers, architects. All you need are business cards and you can be one. I’m sure that works with a lot of things, like terrorist. (Would luv to see that card)

    Like

Leave a Reply

