Spring is here so I guess I’ll get off the couch now

The “when it rains it pours” saying is so spot on and applicable to all kinds of situations.  Apparently for me, when it rains, it pours jobs. I went from having two volunteer jobs (plus this blog that’s not really a job but can be rather time-consuming) to having two volunteer jobs and two real jobs.  Part time jobs.  But still.  This is putting a damper on my do-as-I-please-all-the-time lifestyle I was starting to heavily embrace.

So what are these high-powered career-advancing occupations you might ask?  Writer and yoga teacher.  Two things I was already claiming on my Instagram profile but am now actually getting paid to do.  Or at least should be getting paid to do once the direct deposits are set up.

Back in January, I submitted some writing samples from this blog to various local writing outlets, including eCurrent, an online Ann Arbor journal chronicling art, music, food, theater and book happenings around town and Eater, a national food blog with dedicated sites for large cities like Detroit.  Never heard back from eCurrent 😦 but after a few months, the editor of Eater Detroit contacted me about coming on as a freelance contributor.  Woo woo!  Could I write about Ann Arbor?  Not so much as that is technically outside of their coverage zone.  But what a great opportunity to explore and learn more about Detroit.  (And perhaps write off some meals on next year’s tax return?)

So I EXCITINGLY present to you my first contribution to the site, which was published yesterday afternoon!!!

Then, more recently I was fired up about some poor gym/yoga etiquette and feeling all “Ugh these peeeeeople!!” as well as some: Elaine: “I will never understand people.”/Jerry: “They’re the worst.”  

It’s really bad news when pet peeves are riling you up during the meditation part of a yoga class, so I marched right home and applied for a yoga teaching position, as if one new job wasn’t enough.  If you want something done right….and all that good stuff.

Shockingly, the gym peeps emailed me same day and whaddayaknow I’m picking up two classes per week starting in May.  Talk about quick turnaround.  Now I’m getting nervous.  *Nervous laughter*  What if the students don’t like me?  Ironic given my impetus to apply in the first place.  Lol.  No I’m sure it will be fine and we will all get along swimmingly and we’ll do some yoga along the way. If you’re in Ann Arbor and are interested, I’ll let you know when and where I’m teaching and maybe you can come and stock the class with some friendlies.  😉

Okay on to some job-related prep work here!

7 thoughts on “Spring is here so I guess I’ll get off the couch now

Leave a Reply

