Detroit Auto Show

Detroit Auto Show

This post is a bit delayed as the North American International Auto Show was back in late January, but I just didn’t really know what to say about it.  I’m not a car person, but when in MotorCity…  So Mark and I went over to the COBO Center in Detroit one day after work to check out what all the fuss was about.

To say the show was massive would be an understatement.  These photos can’t even do justice to its scale.  Each brand had its own section with concept cars, the newest lines, light-shows, floors that swooped and sloped and changed color, walls that were entirely made up of hi-def videos, and 20-30something ladies in black dresses or suits with extra long fake eyelashes giving car commentary and specs over the sound system.

The comments I overheard were like a foreign language.  Middle aged men spouting off facts to one another about this component or engine or whatever (I have no idea).  I’m glad we went for the experience, but I am none the wiser about anything automotive, except to say “Look at that crazy one!”

So on to the photos:

IMG_2014 IMG_2015 IMG_2016 IMG_2017 IMG_2018 IMG_2019 IMG_2021 Moving machine parts on displayIMG_2023 IMG_2025 IMG_2026 IMG_2027 IMG_2029 IMG_2030 IMG_2031 IMG_2032 IMG_2035 IMG_2036 IMG_2038 IMG_2039 IMG_2040 Virtual reality driving simulatorIMG_2041

IMG_2043Loving this grill IMG_2045 There’s the color-changing floorIMG_2046 IMG_2048 IMG_2049 Enclosed scooter thing?IMG_2050 IMG_2051 IMG_2052 IMG_2053 IMG_2054 Trunk in the frontIMG_2055 IMG_2058 IMG_2059

IMG_2060Cool colors at BMW

IMG_2063A little girl starting early IMG_2064 IMG_2065 IMG_2066 Do you think these wings help with aerodynamics or just look cool?IMG_2067

IMG_2068Here we have a family rocking matching camo. I think the person on the left is the mom.  Or the son.  Ummm. There’s a third person behind them that you can’t see who is either the mom or the son also.

After the car show, we hit up Slows Bar BQ which is a super popular BBQ restaurant in a strangely vacant part of Detroit.  Maybe not strangely.  We couldn’t even find the door because it blended right in with the building, but once we got inside it was jammed packed.  An hour wait on a Tuesday?!?!?!  Car show I guess.  They moved quickly and we got amazingly delicious meat, mac n cheese, mashed sweet potatoes, fries, cornbread, etc.  I ate until I felt really sick, and it didn’t even look like I had touched my pulled pork, chicken and brisket.  They had five or six different sauces, which were all so good, I kept rotating different meat with different sauces to find the best combos.

IMG_2071 IMG_2070 IMG_2090

An excellent night out in Detroit.  Can’t wait for warmer weather to explore more!

5 thoughts on “Detroit Auto Show

  1. Such a weird culture, never got it (AND I am German). But my brother works for a car manufacturer, and so has a line of my ancestors, so I guess I should have more of an affinity for it. To me, all that matters is that it drives and doesn’t cause me any problems…:)

    Like

  2. Shamefully enough for a Detroit native (I lived there until I was three), I’ve never been to the Auto Show…I’m not a car buff, but I do want to see it just for the experience. I could just never talk myself into dealing with all the crowds. Your pictures are awesome though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

