The Pursuit of Pizza Perfection Continues

I still have yet to find my go-to pizza spot in Ann Arbor.  In fact, I’m getting fairly frustrated by the lack of thin, crispy-crust or wood-fired oven pizza that doesn’t make me feel totally bloated and sleepy after eating it.

Let’s recap:

1. Jet’s Pizza: I’m revising my so-so review down to “you may as well eat the cardboard box it came in.”

2. Mani: Mani was rated as one of the top 38 places to eat pizza in the US by eater.com.  The pizza was good if you are eating in and having it to share, but certainly not crave-worthy for our-weekly-pizza-night-at-home-on-the-couch routine and I’m pretty sure there are 38 better places to get pizza in NYC alone.

3. NeoPapalis: I would definitely recommend eating in over taking out and the margherita pizza over the traditional cheese for a lighter take.  I would also get one of their huge, fresh salads to fill you up with something healthy in addition to the pizza.

4. Grizzly Peak: Pretty cheesy and would try it again if eating at the restaurant but not going to be a go-to for carry out.

5. Hello Faz: What an odd name for a pizza place….or any place.  We decided to look for a restaurant that would deliver pizza to us, and this was very highly rated on Yelp.  We got a half cheese-half banana pepper pizza and pepperoni cheesy bread.  With the first bite of cheesy bread, I got the overwhelming taste of pretzel – yum!  It wasn’t until the next piece that I realized the pretzel taste came from the copious amounts of butter spread underneath the cheese.  It was reminiscent of Auntie Anne’s pretzels.  The pizza was super bready – almost more so than a Papa John’s, which is really saying something.  The banana pepper side was decent because the sourness of the peppers broke up the salty, extra-chewy crust/bread, but the cheese side was fairly overwhelming to try to chew.  It could have been the pizza, or the week-old-opened white wine I had with it, but either way I felt so sick the rest of the night, and the next morning was even worse.  I think it was really all that butter.  We had about half a pizza left over, and I didn’t even want to look at it the next day, let alone have it for lunch.  Needless to say, I will not be getting Hello Faz pizza again.

So the quest continues for Ann Arbor pizza.

On the flip side, I had a fairly standard, comfort-food style mushroom pizza at Kooper’s North near my parents’ condo in Lutherville last weekend when I was home.  I love regular white mushrooms on pizza.  They get a warm, earthy taste when heated and softened.  Portobellos are okay too because they are meaty and stand up to the cheese, but I can’t get behind a lot of other mushrooms on pizza when they are too delicate and get lost in the other pizza flavors.  And I definitely can’t do shiitakes – but mostly because they make my tummy hurt. 😦

Okay, so there are tons of pizza places in Ann Arbor (although someone did warn me that there weren’t actually any good ones) – somebody please tell me where I can find a yummy, gourmet, wood oven pizza in this place!

4 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Pizza Perfection Continues

  1. Ugh, this is so annoying. I’m still trying to find a good place in Houston for take out/delivery that isn’t “trendy” pizza. I thought I had found a good one, until the delivery person got lost, stole my pizza and ate it, would not take my phone call re: reimbursement (had paid in advance via credit card), and no one responded to my e-mail. Needless to say they got a horrible Yelp review!

    Like

  2. BTW that 38 pizza list is hmmm… Iggie’s is good, but… On the other hand Modern in New Haven is seriously awesome – we plan our trips to RI around stopping there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

