Trying to Unpack at Least 5 Years’ Worth of Stuff

Trying to Unpack at Least 5 Years' Worth of Stuff

Kitchen before…..I thought I had done a pretty good job of going through things prior to the move, but apparently not as I found carry-out chopsticks, ketchup packets and a Blackberry charger (neither of us have bberries anymore)…a few boxes down, lots to go!

2

Kitchen after…Bought pizza and soda for lunch for us and the movers…and then proceeded to have that for dinner too.  Jet’s Pizza – sort of like Domino’s.  No flavor when eaten cold.  Will be a good late night option for those moments when you have to have some sort of pizza delivered at 1am….if they’re open until 1am.

before living

Living room before…Sad side note: the fireplace actually does not work.  Well it works, but the owner found out that it was leaking off unacceptably high levels of carbon monoxide and had to have it decommissioned.  I guess that’s the smart move here.  I will also be purchasing a carbon monoxide detector immediately.

1

 

Living room after….aka disaster zone.  Does anyone know if there is fabric disinfectant?  Not just Febreeze but like Lysol for couches, mattresses, etc?

b4 porchPorch before

new porch

Porch after….note the cute ceramic elephant in the corner that will be good for plants/drinks/candles….courtesy of Stella Maris – thank you!!!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Trying to Unpack at Least 5 Years’ Worth of Stuff

    1. Thank you! I look forward to reading your blog to get some good ideas on places to go around here. Also I see you’ve had sommelier training – where did you do that? I’d love to really learn more about wine, but I’m having trouble finding real semester-like classes rather than just tastings here and there. I’m taking my first trip to Napa this fall and cannot wait!

      Like

      1. I took mine through the INternational Sommelier Guild, which conducts training across the country. I took mine in Chicago. Not sure what else there is locally outside of the tastings, though. Maybe through Washtenaw Community College. For tastings, Jorge from Produce Station runs some great ones and Morgan & York has free ones on Saturdays. You can probably learn a lot from them.

        There are some meetup.com groups, that can help. I host the one for Food and Drink Writers. YOu’re welcome to join that and I can give some crash courses. 😉

        Like

      2. Thanks you for the recommendations! I would love to get involved and meet some new people in my new hometown! I’ll keep on the look out on meetup and please keep me posted as to when the food and wine blogging group may get together again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

