Last Day/First Day

Shed a tear for change, square your shoulders and don’t look back ~ Dad 6/14/13

It’s 2pm on a weekday afternoon, and I’m home, not at work.  What a strange feeling.  Today was my last day of work at M&T Bank, where I’ve worked for the past 6 years.  Strange not to have a Blackberry; strange not to have a work email to check constantly; strange to have given up my badge, computer and corporate card.  Not as freeing as I thought it was going to be….maybe it’ll sink in in a few minutes….so now, what to do in the meantime?

Oh right!  I guess it’s time to start that blog!  lol

Over the past month, my life that was just chugging along nicely and quietly has completely been shaken up in a number of new and wonderful ways.  Mark, my boyfriend of almost 7 years, got a new job in Ann Arbor Michigan.  Never having actually been to Michigan, I was like, “Sure, take it, sounds like a great idea.”  Then it hit me like 2 weeks later: we are actually moving to Michigan. Ummmmm…..W.T.F.

Right.  Leaving Baltimore, where I’ve lived practically my whole life, to upend to the Midwest where I hear the snow is ridiculous.  

And I am SO not a cold weather kinda girl….How is that going to work?  TBD…but I DO know it will involve one of those floor-length North Face down puffer coats.  If anyone has one to sell, I’m offering to buy!

So I named this blog “Next Stop: TBD” for many reasons, which I will get into eventually over time, but basically, I feel like I’ve been answering the never-ending stream of questions lately with “TBD”.  As in, I have no idea.

Where are you going to live?  Corporate housing to start, and then I’m sure we’ll find something to rent, but I have no idea where really, so I guess it’s TBD

What are you going to do for work there?  Well, they have banks there (I know, I was just as shocked as you are), and apparently like 30 yoga studios, and various not-for-profits that probably need volunteers or fundraisers, so something, but TBD when I get there.

When are you leaving for good?  Well I have tickets to the Jay-Z/Justin Timberlake concert on August 8th in Baltimore, so sometime after that, TBD.  (Although this is now looking more and more like the weekend of August 10th)

Are you going to get married/when/where/where’s the ring?  Yes, yes, we’re getting there, everyone calm down.  But the responsibility of picking a ring/deciding where to buy it/or have it made/negotiate pricing has now been delegated to me, and I gotta say, it’s super overwhelming and just thinking about it makes me want to curl up in the fetal position and whimper.  No wonder Mark hadn’t asked me to marry him prior to this….the whole process is exhausting and a pain in the tuchis!  All of that to say that everything regarding this part of my life is TBD.  Except Mark.  He’s D.

(On a side note, I just need to gush a minute about the sweetness/thoughtfulness that is Mark.  Although it wasn’t a get-down-on-one-knee-fireworks-surprise-extravaganza kind of proposal (which, btw, I fully expect once the ring is selected, purchased and delivered), Mark did ask to pick me up early from work one Thursday to go to dinner at my parents’ house, where we had decided we were going to break the big move news.  When I got into the car, he said, “We’re going to make a stop first.”  Having a big hunch as to what he was thinking, I said, “Wheeeerrrrreee??” wink wink.  And he said, “I’m not sure how this new job or this move is going to go, and I don’t know where we will end up in the end, but I AM sure about you.”  Awww so cute.)

Okay, well on with the rest of the story.  But really I think that’s about enough for now.  Time to go have a celebratory beer and write my yoga class for tomorrow.  Because it just feels like a normal day, and it still hasn’t hit me.

3 thoughts on “Last Day/First Day

Leave a Reply

